Dimension Pro & Rapture ?

Author
Reckert
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
2006/10/27 15:28:44 (permalink)

Dimension Pro & Rapture ?

1. Does anyone know what the difference is between Dimension Pro & Rapture?

2. I'm a guitarist with very limited keyboard finesse and I would like to play basic backing chords & melodies with my midi controller thru SONAR....
Most importantly my midi-controller needs better sounds than what a PC and my sound card offers, which program would be better?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or answers!

10 Replies Related Threads

Snouter
    Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 105
    RE: Dimension Pro & Rapture ? 2006/10/27 16:12:37 (permalink)
    Good question. I am a Cakewalk Guitar Tracks Pro 3 user and have become interested in utilizing the higher tech stuff like Sonar and Project.

Here is a "psychelelic trance" stream I recorded off the net and then I just did some guitar improv over it. I have done numerous cover songs and am really interested in this as a style of the future. In other words, a techno/trance backing track plus live guitar or bass or drummer depending on who is available, but most likely solo. So I am curious what Cakewalk packages (landscape type sounds and instruments and beats) are needed to do a backing track similar to the one in the following mp3.

http://www.compobeachbum.com/lionel.mp3
    post edited by Snouter - 2006/10/27 16:29:09
    madratter
    Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 523
    RE: Dimension Pro & Rapture ? 2006/10/27 17:08:18 (permalink)
    First of all, there is a demo for rapture. I would highly suggest downloading it and seeing for yourself what is there.

Dimension Pro is basically a sampler that is also a very capable synth. But if your emphasis is on realistic piano patches, flutes, etc. this is the way to go.