Recording MIDI with MOTU Fastlane USB...

Author
BobLefty61
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 22
2006/11/30 20:07:33 (permalink)

Recording MIDI with MOTU Fastlane USB...

One thing is for certain...I'm a better musician than a technician!

OK...I've got my laptop with my new sound card (Echo Indigo io)...have been recording audio for the past week with mostly fine results.

Today, I bought a MOTU Fastlane USB MIDI interface....it's time, for me, to start learning about MIDI.

I have a MIDI cable, which I connected from the "MIDI Out" port on my Yamaha PSR740 keyboard into the MOTU device. The MOTU is hooked up to the USB port.

Newbie question: Do I also need a cable to go from the "MIDI Out" on the Motu to the input of the sound card? If so, it would be a MIDI connect on one end, and a 1/8 jack on the other, right? I thought, probably incorrectly, that the MIDI data traveled through the USB port to get into the computer...

Thanks...Bob.

3 Replies Related Threads

Beagle
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 50621
    RE: Recording MIDI with MOTU Fastlane USB... 2006/11/30 20:34:33 (permalink)
    No, you cannot send MIDI to the sound card. You can hook up the AUDIO or HEADPHONE OUTPUT from the keyboard to the soundcard, but MIDI is DATA ONLY, NOT sound.

Make sure you work thru the tutorials and you will understand MIDI a lot better.

http://soundcloud.com/beaglesound/sets/featured-songs-1
    i7, 16G DDR3, Win10x64, MOTU Ultralite Hybrid MK3
    Yamaha MOXF6, Hammond XK3c, other stuff.
    daveny5
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 16934
    RE: Recording MIDI with MOTU Fastlane USB... 2006/11/30 21:38:40 (permalink)
    You can send MIDI to the soundcard internally (not using external cables) by using softsynths. Home Studio comes with the Edirol Virtual Sound Canvas and Dreamstation and there are others you can get on the web. Take the tutorial on Using Softsynths or load Tutorial1.cwp and follow these instructions: