My First Rapturious Experience With Sonar 6

Author
Snouter
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 105
2006/12/03 20:13:48 (permalink)

My First Rapturious Experience With Sonar 6

I had used Cakewalk Guitar Tracks Pro 3 for a long while, and just recently upgraded to Sonar 6 along with the amazing synth software Rapture. I am just starting to learn MIDI so I don't know how ridiculous this thread is but here goes.

I figured since this board is relatively quiet I would just post my experience this afternoon messing around with Sonar 6 and Rapture. Any advice would be appreciated.

I got an Axiom 49 midi keyboard. The install was kind of weird in that at one point it was looking for Dazzle software which is some crappy video software I had thought I completely deleted off my PC a year ago. But either way, when I plug in the USB and the MIDI cables the Axiom works when Sonar is loaded up and Soft Synths are inserted. The TTS-1 synth that has piano and other sounds seems extraordinarily quiet though. Even when I crank up the input volume on the screen, it is still not really usable because it is so quiet. Rapture on the other hand, I have to reduce the input volume because the sound is so huge which is great. I am not sure how to work the MIDI keyboard other than playing the keys themselves. I tried moving a slider (D9, 1) and it changed the sound slightly, I slide it back and the sound totally disappeared altogether. Are all those sliders and knobs really necessary?

So anyhow, this is what I did just for the record in that it may help someone and that you guys can point out where improvements can be made in the steps taken.

1. Turned on MIDI keyboard that was connected via MIDI and USB
2. Started Sonar
3. Selected Jazz Trio template
4. In Drum track inserted Soft Synth Session Drummer, picked a beat, dragged it into the track then copied and pasted the MIDI info to total 2 minutes or so.