If You Have Headphone Monitors, Do you Still Need Actual Monitors?

Author
Xfusion
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 84
2007/01/04 18:12:02 (permalink)

If You Have Headphone Monitors, Do you Still Need Actual Monitors?

I am confused about this whole monitor thing (I'm just a beginner).

If I have a pair of headphone monitors, do I still need to have actual monitors? When I'm working on my music, I always wear my headphones anyway because I want to be completley sunk into the music and hear everything and I never use my regular speakers. So what I want to know is- do headphone monitors work as well as actual ones or not? If anything, I would think headphones would be better since it's right on top of your ears. And how much of a difference do you think monitors make from regular speakers?

Please keep in mind that I am by no means a professional and if I did get monitors, I would not spend more than $150 on them (I was looking at some M-Audio ones for $99).

9 Replies Related Threads

Steve_Karl
    Max Output Level: -50 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2534
    RE: If You Have Headphone Monitors, Do you Still Need Actual Monitors? 2007/01/04 18:25:44 (permalink)
    I do. You might not.

Steve Karl
    https://soundcloud.com/steve_karl
    SPLAT 2017.01
    RLD
    Max Output Level: -55.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1990
    RE: If You Have Headphone Monitors, Do you Still Need Actual Monitors? 2007/01/04 18:27:18 (permalink)
    It all depends on where you are in your music career
    If you are a beginner, just learning the ins and out of DAW's you may not need them for now,
    but when you want to achieve a decent mix that sounds good on other speaker systems,
    you'll find your headphone mixes generally don't cut it.
    HERE is another thread on the same subject.

RLD
    beatrack
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 71
    RE: If You Have Headphone Monitors, Do you Still Need Actual Monitors? 2007/01/04 20:20:55 (permalink)