Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
rhynosynth
Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 520
2008/05/18 22:17:36 (permalink)

First attempt at recording

Hello All,

I just posted my 1st song. It's an instrumental titled "Just after Midnight". I didn't add any effects other than what the patches already had programmed into them. I'm hoping to get some feed back as to what could be done to make it sound better as I'm brand new to recording and have no idea what should be added to tracks after they're recorded. My apologies if it sounds like a mess through your monitors or headphones. I don't even have good monitors as of yet. Any comments are appreciated.

Thanks
http://www.soundclick.com/rhynobyte

37 Replies Related Threads

rolifer@verizon.net
    Max Output Level: -58.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1676
    RE: First attempt at recording 2008/05/18 22:37:55 (permalink)
    Rhynosynth

When you go to a club or any venue to see a show you will hear the music directly and indirectly. The sound waves bounce off of everything there, the walls, the chairs, the ceiling,etc. This is called reverb.

To make a piece sound more realistic, we must add this effect to the piece we are working on. Each instrument will react differently in how it reverberates in a live performance, so you need to add reverb to individual instruments differently as well for that realistic sound.

Everyone has a different feel for how much reverb should be added, so you just need to play around until you find the sound you like.

Monitors can be very expensive for a good set, so I use headphones myself. Get yourself a good pair and just play around with the sounds until you get something you like.

Hope that helps.

Ron
    robby
    Max Output Level: -17 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5819
    RE: First attempt at recording 2008/05/18 22:40:26 (permalink)
    I like the smooth jazz feel :-)