Focusrite Voicemaster Pro Set up

Author
gatagirl
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 58
2007/11/28 19:42:31 (permalink)

Focusrite Voicemaster Pro Set up

Hi Everyone,

Hoping for some advice on the best way to record vocals using the Voicemaster with my set up. I have never used a preamp before so this is my first venture.... (I purchased the unit on Ebay just the other day and just got it).

If I understand correctly, I could plug my mic cable into the front XLR input on the Focusrire. Then from the back I can plug another mic cable going from the 'output pre de-esser' into channel 1 of my Mackie 1202-VLZ3 Mixer. Then the mixer outs go to my left and right inputs of my Audiophile 192 soundcard. I can also monitor my vocals and the music with headphones plugged into the Mackie. (I also have outputs from the 192 sound card going into inputs on the mackie so that I can hear the entire mix.... but they are being routed differently so they don't loop back to the soundcard).

With the Mackie in the middle of the chain, aren't I sort of going from the focusrite preamp, to the Mackie preamp and then kind of coloring the vocal with 2 preamps?

Is it possible to plug the out of the focusrite directly into the soundcard ins?

I am not sure what cable would work to do this....
I could keep the outs from the soundcard going into the Mackie and use the mixer just to hear everything throught the headphone jack.

Or.... Can I get rid of the Mackie altogether by going directly from the focusrite to the soundcard and use the headphone jack on the focusrite to hear everything?

I appreciate any input..... Thanks in advance.

Sonar PE 7
Intel Pentium 4, 2600 MHz, 1.5GB RAM, Windows XP SP2
Audiophile 192 soundcard
Focusrite Voicemaster Platinum, Rode NT1a mic
Dimension Pro, Waves NPP, Waves RenMaxx

3 Replies Related Threads

CJaysMusic
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 30423
    RE: Focusrite Voicemaster Pro Set up 2007/11/29 08:26:58 (permalink)