Helpful ReplyFuture Loopsters: 1) Apple, 2) Acid, and/or 3) Rex loops

Author
Philip
Max Output Level: -34.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4062
2010/09/12 20:41:51 (permalink)

Future Loopsters: 1) Apple, 2) Acid, and/or 3) Rex loops

... etc. (for this topic I'd prefer not to delve much into BiaB or 7Aliens-Cantana loops) but on Beatz loops.

What loops do you prefer/consider and/or your techniques using them?  I am new in this realm so please chime, everyone!  Novice and Pro should have some pearls to share here.

In Sonar:

1) Apple Loops are just wave files (apparently).  I find these useful for learning other genres and hooks.  By studying Apple loops (drag & drop into Sonar) ... you can follow the suggested tempo and key (hopefully spelled out on your/my loop samples).  Or you/I can Ctrl-L them into groove loops to be like Acid loops.

You can also seriously emulate instrument/vox samples, their compressions, Hass effects, etc. ... that these artists labors of love generously afford (royalty free after you purchase). 

Yes, I've recently learned a great deal from painstaking uber vox loops that are just now hitting vendors.

2) Acid loops become Groove Loops when dragged & dropped into Sonar ... yes: they conform to both key and tempo.  Of course you can Ctrl-L them into wave clips ... no problem.

Acid loops and Apple loops are mere compliments of each other and work equally well in Sonar ... IOWS, they are wave clips vs. groove clips.

3) Rex loops: These are those astonishing loops found in Beatscape that invoke life-changing songs to emerge out of the blue.  They also add speedy life to my dead traditional beatz (AKA, grooves and rhythms).

Unfortunately, they are buggish in 64 bit enviroments.  Also, 3rd party rex artists are not always trustworthy ... and many slices don't cut it in Beatscape.  Some don't play at all.