Gear lust Killed my Ability to Complete

Author
Monkey Mash
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 163
2007/05/11 17:07:07 (permalink)

Gear lust Killed my Ability to Complete

I just realised that i've not finished anything for weeks. I've spent loads of time sat here playing with all my nice plugs, made a few bars of bits of nothing, bought some Kjaerhus bits and Audio Damage stuff and so on - i could have written an album. When i had an Ensoniq SQ80 and only that, i was a prolific producer of finished tracks - most were crap, but they were complete. So what do i do? Uninstall everything and go back to basic P5 and its synths - maybe i'd get more done. I've now got a Moog Voyager on the way - childhood dreams to have a minimoog fulfilled. I bet i can spend the next six months getting to know that - another good excuse to sit and not produce the goods .

Anyone else had gear lust and recovered? is there light at the end of the expensive tunnel?

Monkey

24 Replies Related Threads

syrath
    Max Output Level: -34.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4075
    RE: Gear lust Killed my Ability to Complete 2007/05/11 17:15:29 (permalink)
    Try this. Dont buy anymore gear, dont sell it either. Say to yourself that you will only spend time learning each thing you have. Spend lots of time concentrating on that one plug in or whatever. Once you feel extremely comfortable about it, move onto the next. Learning all the time.
    Monkey Mash
    RE: Gear lust Killed my Ability to Complete 2007/05/11 17:38:46 (permalink)
    Yeah - i know your right for sure. Take Absynth - its potential is vast, and i just scatched the surface - i even got the tutorial DVD so i've got no excuse. There are probably people knocking about that just use instances of that alone for complete projects

Monkey

kb420
    Max Output Level: -57 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1839
    RE: Gear lust Killed my Ability to Complete 2007/05/11 17:47:23 (permalink)