Getting Started With A MIDI Controller

Author
DallasSteve
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 36
2018/09/21 01:48:53 (permalink)

Getting Started With A MIDI Controller

I bought a simple MIDI controller called MidiPlus AKM320.  I have it hooked up to my laptop.  I opened a project in Music Creator 6.  I have the Cakewalk TTS-1 soft synth installed.  The first time I hooked it up I pressed a key on the controller and the lights appeared on both the selected MIDI track and the soft synth track and notes came out of my computer speakers.  But the sound wasn't clean; maybe a latency problem?  So I changed a few settings and now when I press the controller the MIDI track lights up but the soft synth track does not light up any more.

This seems very complicated to me, and I've been programming computers for 20+ years.  LOL.  So I checked Preferences and I have the AKM320 checked under MIDI - Devices, input and output.  I think that I have the soft synth selected as the output for the MIDI track, and I think I have the soft synth input set to MIDI - Omni, but I'm not sure.  I tried watching the video again.  I tried reading a help page online.  I'm going to lose interest in this again if it takes me 4 hours to just get the controller set up (I've already wasted about 2 hours trying).

Please help me.  Thanks

6 Replies Related Threads

DallasSteve
    Re: Getting Started With A MIDI Controller 2018/09/21 02:06:48 (permalink)
    Here's an update from my testing.  Maybe this will help someone identify what I'm doing wrong.