Getting the Guitars to Stand Out More.....

Author
TheEdster75
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 67
2010/11/22 15:13:36 (permalink)

Getting the Guitars to Stand Out More.....

Ok, first off here is what I am using:

Windows 7 64 Bit
Sonar 8.5
Edirol FA-66 Audio interface

And when I record guitars and mic my Line 6 Spider 3 amp with a Shure SM-57...

Here is my mix, lil Hip Hop and Metal:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3...%20and%20Master_eq.mp3

Guitars do not stand out anywhere near what I'd like....

Any advice on what to do? i already have the volume up as loud as it can go before I get into the red on the meter...

I have read a bit about Frequency Slotting.... Seems to me this has to be done with EQ'ing
, but when i see Frequency Charts like this:

I have no clue how to translate that onto here:

I am a newb and extremely visual... So as much visual representation to help me out as you can give will be greatly appreciated.. Thanks!!!

29 Replies Related Threads

Gaffpro
    Max Output Level: -75 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 792
    Re:Getting the Guitars to Stand Out More..... 2010/11/22 15:31:29 (permalink)
    The guitars are too fizzy to begin with...if you can't re record them at least flatten out the eq....they need more bottom end (200-500 hz)...if you want the guitars "more in your face" boost eq between 2-3 khz
    vinski
    Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 300
    Re:Getting the Guitars to Stand Out More..... 2010/11/22 15:42:48 (permalink)
    You have much to learn, padawan!  Great interface by the way, I like it lots!!

Do you understand what's happening on your EQ diagram?
    Essentially what the bands say underneath;  Band 1 is cutting (or subtracting EQ) at 30Hz by 13 decibels.
    Band 2 is boosting (or adding EQ) at 50Hz by 13 decibels, and so on, and so on.