GigaStudio Users - BEWARE of Reaper!

Author
Infinite5ths
Max Output Level: -39 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3631
2006/12/06 19:49:44 (permalink)

GigaStudio Users - BEWARE of Reaper!

Hey folks! I just wanted to pass on a bit of info to anybody using Gigastudio ReWired into Sonar. I've been using it for several months now. The 3.20 patch was very stable, given my machine and a few config tweaks. However...

I was doing some testing with a developer a couple weeks back, trying to resolve a bug in one of my plugins. In the process, the dev' asked me to install some other host -- just to make sure this bug was not unique to Sonar. So I did what seemed logical: I downloaded the current version of Reaper and installed it just long enough to test the plugin; then I immediately uninstalled it.

Well, the bug in the plugin is LONG gone; but I noticed a couple days ago that I was having trouble with Giga in Sonar. The audio engine kept cutting off as soon as I inserted Giga into the Synth Rack. ...big headache -- lots of testing.

The short version: Reaper installs an updated version of ReWire.dll that DOES NOT work well with Giga. It took me a while to trace this, since I didn't realize that Reaper replaced it. Also, re-installing Giga won't fix the problem (unless you manually delete ReWire.dll in the process), because the ReWire.dll in Reaper has a later version # than any of the Giga 3 installs or updates. The uninstall/install/updates won't touch it. So I now officially detest Reaper -- for changing my system without asking and for NOT changing it BACK when I uninstalled.

Anyway -- save yourself some ReWire headaches and avoid Reaper like the plague. It's free for a reason...
post edited by Infinite5ths - 2006/12/06 20:10:42

Mike
MichaelDanchi.com
IPM Productions
Sonar 8PE, Project 5 v2.5, Rapture, Dimension Pro, Z3TA+, RME FF400 + Presonus DigiMax FS

10 Replies Related Threads

wynnsong
    Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 504