Good first hardware synth?

Author
DelvarWorld
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 223
2010/11/10 00:04:05 (permalink)

Good first hardware synth?

A little background, I enjoy doing music projects and I'm a pianist / keyboardist. Right now I have a simple Yamaha DXG 88 keys, unweighted, that has been serving as my MIDI controller for years. I do almost exclusively VST work through my PC. But now I'm getting a craving, something itching deep down, for a hardware synth. There's the allure of that analog sound that is calling to me.

One of my favorite bands, Infected Mushroom, boasts about the Nord G2 a lot. I have also seen demos of the Virus TI2 and it sounds very impressive. Price is a bit of a concern for me, $2,000+ is kind of pushing it for an impulse buy. Is ebay or craigslist the answer?

I'm kind of stumped as to where to start looking for a synth. I don't do any live playing and I don't need a drum pad on it. I don't need TOO many knobs (I don't think), a mod wheel and pitch bend would of course be nice. I want something that will give me good options for fiddling to get a good array of sounds with that thick analog feel to it. Weighted keys would be nice.

Is it worth it to splurge on a synth, or should I fall back to my next lust for 88 weighted keys?

13 Replies Related Threads

wst3
    Max Output Level: -55.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1979
    Re:Good first hardware synth? 2010/11/10 14:25:24 (permalink)
    Tough call!

I like hardware synths, especially ones with lots of physical controls... in fact, I'd say that today the ability to interact with it using physical controls would be on a par with the sound of the device in terms of reasons to buy one. Seems like there is very little one can not do quite convincingly with software emulations.