Help! I'm having sinful thoughts!

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
Viz
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 96
RE: Help! I'm having sinful thoughts! 2005/08/14 09:10:21 (permalink)
ORIGINAL: brucie
I really really don't want to go the Steinberg route

I know youre being a little lured by Steinberg`s, or more specifically Nuendo`s capabilities. I dont blame you that. I jus dont know why a Music composer needs to spend 1800$ for a Video editing software when his primary job is only to provide the Score. I mean, isnt Programs like Nuendo for the Post Production guys ?? The Professional ones ? and why does Cakewalk boast it is equipped for film scoring and video. I got interested with that part mainly albeit not doing any video or film projects atm. I sincerely dont know about the features that Sonar is lacking which you said, maybe im a rookie in it which iam though, but how WELL do they come into play when scoring ? I know im an off-topic idiot, but i think its relevant to ask here.

P.S :- I also heard that even Nuendo is not COMPLETELY equipped for Film Scoring. I dont know how that guy scored on Cubase which is like Sonar. Digital Performer sounds good, but im scared of your Mac experiences
post edited by Viz - 2005/08/14 09:19:01
brucie
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 118
RE: Help! I'm having sinful thoughts! 2005/08/14 09:27:13 (permalink)
IT is relevant to ask!

I agree that you don't need that many video production tools in a daw, as it is for working with audio....and programs like Final Cut Pro do video so much better! When scoring, the aim is to produce the music for the film, and probably these days with small outfits (not Hollywood productions) produce sound design aspects to as well as some sound effects.