How can I get USB serial data into a MIDI file

Author
Coreysan
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 126
2014/09/15 19:24:39 (permalink)

How can I get USB serial data into a MIDI file

I'd like to try the makeymakey board, and it sends its serial data to a USB port.

However, it would be helpful to convert that serial data so that I could use it in a MIDI file.

Does anyone know a way to do that? I do know a website that offers a software product for realtime conversion, so there's
a solution, but it's gonna cost.

Can Sonar do it? I'm not a MIDI programmer kinda guy, so I don't know what Im getting into!!!

Background:
makeymakey is a fun little digital board that allows you to create your own surfaces for sending data. Tap on a banana, for example, and it sends the conductive impulse through an alligator clip & wire to the board, and will trigger an event. The board uses a USB cable so you can plug into a USB port. But of course, my goal is to tap objects and create patterns for a MIDI drum track.

So once the serial data goes to the USB port, I need a way to capture the serial data and do whatever you do to get MIDI data!

3 Replies Related Threads

scook
    Forum Host
    • Total Posts : 24146
    Re: How can I get USB serial data into a MIDI file 2014/09/15 19:43:33 (permalink)
    It appears to be a device which acts like a regular PC keyboard albeit with less functionality. For SONAR to use a PC keyboard as a MIDI input device requires Virtual MIDI Controller software. There are a few free ones available on the internet. I don't know why one would spend $50 on another PC keyboard to create an inferior MIDI input device. Buy a MIDI keyboard instead.
    Anonymungus!
    Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 259
    Re: How can I get USB serial data into a MIDI file 2014/09/15 23:47:09 (permalink)