How do I use my computer keyboard as a MIDI input?

Author
mmholtman
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 7
2014/01/03 13:28:57 (permalink)

How do I use my computer keyboard as a MIDI input?

I am relatively new to Cakewalk products and home recording in general, so I don't know if this is obvious or not. I have the Sonar VS 100. I want to record mainly on the drum machines that Sonar has. I went to add new track, instrument track then SI-Drum Kit. It opens up the drum machine window and something I noticed at the top right hand corner was a keyboard symbol that said "Give all keystrokes to plug in" and i click enabled. Except nothing happened. How do I use my computer keyboard to perform on the drum machines and other virtual instruments that include this capability?

4 Replies Related Threads

scook
    Forum Host
    • Total Posts : 24146
    Re: How do I use my computer keyboard as a MIDI input? 2014/01/03 14:08:38 (permalink)
    The short answer is don't do it, buy a MIDI keyboard, pads or other input device instead.

The long answer.
    The "Give all keystrokes to plug-in" feature is for sending keystrokes that would normally be interpreted by SONAR as shortcuts directly to the plug-in instead. In order to use the PC keyboard as a MIDI input device requires a virtual MIDI keyboard and virtual MIDI cable. There are a few available on the internet but the better solution is to purchase, no matter how inexpensive, a real MIDI input device. Many of them directly connect to the PC via USB. Instead of using a MIDI input device, MIDI can also be entered in SONAR, albeit not in real-time, using the step sequencer, piano roll and staff views.
    post edited by scook - 2014/01/03 14:10:18
    RobertB
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 11256
    Re: How do I use my computer keyboard as a MIDI input? 2014/01/03 22:26:27 (permalink)
    I'm  with scook.