How do you exploit microphones?

Author
optimus
Max Output Level: -84 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 316
2017/11/30 01:16:19 (permalink)

How do you exploit microphones?

As  I’m relatively new to recording, only ten years or so, I have spent much  time researching  how to improve my recordings and mixing. As recording begins with a microphone and placement, I have sought information on microphones and technique.

The internet and Youtube is full of advice on which microphone is the best, and where to place them, but as a member of this forum for some years now, I don’t think I’ve seen anything relating to actual recording technique discussed here. I mean discussion on microphones, and their use in live situations.

I know that much of what happens on Youtube is hype and misinformation and has to be treated carefully, but I would be interested to know how experienced members or this forum go about choosing their mics. Do you subscribe to the hype that such and such brand mic is to be used in this situation and not another?  Or, like myself, you have a couple of favourite microphones that seem to work for most thing, and just get on with it.

I have the usual compliment of SM58’s and SM57’s that usual work on guitar amps and drums, a couple of small diaphragm condensers and a mid budget large diaphragm condenser that seems to work very well on vocals, and just worry about placement.

Of course, I concede there are microphones that excel in a particular situation, but when constrained by budget, how do you make the best of what you have?

Sonar Platinum, Cakewalk by Bandlab, Roland Octacapture, Windows 7, i5 processor, 8 Gb RAM, X_Touch

8 Replies Related Threads

Karyn
    Ma-Ma
    • Total Posts : 9200
    Re: How do you exploit microphones? 2017/11/30 01:37:44 (permalink)