Helpful ReplyHow do you set up Soundfonts in Sonar Artist?

Author
JCrawf79
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2017/08/04 06:37:50 (permalink)

How do you set up Soundfonts in Sonar Artist?

I'm kind of new to Sonar, and I love using soundfonts for composing. I'm not sure how to get them to work.
abacab
Max Output Level: -30.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4464
Re: How do you set up Soundfonts in Sonar Artist? 2017/08/04 16:54:19 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby Fog 2017/08/13 18:08:14
What soundfont player were you playing them with before?

Sonar can host many VST instruments.  Here are a few free SF2 players in VST instrument plugin format.  I have not tried any of them, so cannot recommend any favorites.
http://www.best-free-vst.com/plugins/virtual-instruments/soundfont-sf2-player-01.php

I have tried importing sf2 into an sfz player, that converts SF2 to sfz, such as the free Plogue sforzando.  It is based on the same Aria engine that Garritan Aria Player uses.
https://www.plogue.com/products/sforzando/

I have seen comments that converting SF2 to sfz is not an exact science, so they may not sound the same, but sfz is the new open standard file format for sampling.

You can take any wav sample, or multisamples, and define the sound with an accompanying sfz file.  It is a text file format that you can edit in any text editor.

"The SFZ Format is widely accepted as the open standard to define the behavior of a musical instrument from a bare set of sound recordings. Being a royalty-free format, any developer can create, use and distribute SFZ files and players for either free or commercial purposes. So when looking for flexibility and portability, SFZ is the obvious choice. That’s why it’s the default instrument file format used in the ARIA Engine."

DAW: CbB; Sonar Platinum, and others ... 
abacab
Re: How do you set up Soundfonts in Sonar Artist? 2017/08/04 17:38:16 (permalink)