Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
mrneil2
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 126
2012/12/13 09:58:06 (permalink)

How long will Windows 7 be supported?

The Background

Running X1 Producer Expanded in Windows XP on a Vostro laptop (see signature). From reading the forum it makes no sense to upgrade to X2 since it doesn’t support XP and will not work when the next X2 patch is released.

The Question

I’m a noob and really just want to make music, primarily audio tracks and EZ drummer.  Maybe a softsyn or two.  Small projects.  Have never gone over 12 tracks.

Would I be shooting myself in the foot if I upgraded only to Windows 7  now?  I don’t want to spend time troubleshooting Windows 8 like all the recent posts. 

What’s your guess for how long Cakewalk will support Windows 7?  Would I be in the same boat in 2 years?  

Software:Platinum    

Computer: HP Envy  i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz , 8GB Ram, 64bit Operating System, Windows 10
Western Digital (1TB) External Hard Drive
Roland Octa-Capture    
M-Audio Keystation 88es

33 Replies Related Threads

Bristol_Jonesey
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 16775
    Re:How long will Windows 7 be supported? 2012/12/13 10:07:50 (permalink)
    Would I be shooting myself in the foot if I upgraded only to Windows 7  now?

No. Win 7 is stable & mature
    I don’t want to spend time troubleshooting Windows 8 like all the recent posts.

Neither do I. That's why I probably won't upgrade again until Windows 9
    What’s your guess for how long Cakewalk will support Windows 7?

Who knows - best guess? A LONG time

CbB, Platinum, 64 bit throughout
    Custom built i7 3930, 32Gb RAM, 2 x 1Tb Internal HDD, 1 x 1TB system SSD (Win 7), 1 x 500Gb system SSD (Win 10), 2 x 1Tb External HDD's, Dual boot Win 7 & Win 10 64 Bit, Saffire Pro 26, ISA One, Adam P11A,
    CJaysMusic
    • Total Posts : 30423
    Re:How long will Windows 7 be supported? 2012/12/13 10:24:21 (permalink)