How to get my MC midi recording to CD?

Author
roberthamilton
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2006/01/07 23:42:27 (permalink)

How to get my MC midi recording to CD?

I'm a beginner. I purchased Cakewalk Music Creator v. 2 bundled together with Cakewalk Pyro. I have been able to save a recording from a Yamaha P120 piano input to my hard disk as a cakewalk project file (and then as a midi file). My question is, what is the most straightforward way for me to convert this file into a format that can be burned to a CD? I first opened the Pyro program, figuring that it would be able to do whatever conversions were necessary and burn the recorded file to a CD. However, I quickly realized that Pyro does not recognize either the midi or cakewalk project file format (i.e., these files do not show up in the window for this folder when I open Pyro). If I'm understanding the help information for Pyro, it seems to indicate that Pyro only recognizes MP3, WMA, or WAV files, not midi. So then, I went back to Music Creator to look for a way to convert either the cakewalk project file or the midi file into something that Pyro could recognize. I read somewhere that midi tracks in Music Creator could be exported as audio files, which could then provide the bridge I needed. But when I highlight the track in Music Creator that comprises the midi file I recorded, then go to the export option, the "audio" option is shaded out and not available. I'm sure that there must be a simple answer to this, but my background knowledge in this area is so shallow that I'm starting to get a headache. Any help appreciated!

5 Replies Related Threads

bargainboy1
    Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 515
    RE: How to get my MC midi recording to CD? 2006/01/08 00:14:28 (permalink)
    Open a new audio track. Arm it. Solo the midi track you want to convert to audio. Hit record. Stop the recording when you're finished. Your audio track should have recorded the midi sounds.