How would you do this? (chopping and reassembling clips to tempo)

Author
neiby
Max Output Level: -75 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 765
2011/01/30 17:09:01 (permalink)

How would you do this? (chopping and reassembling clips to tempo)

I posted another thread this morning that touched on this a bit, but I thought I'd start a separate one that was focused on this. I'm very interested to hear how other Sonar users would do this. It seems that there are a few ways to pull it off, but I'm not experienced enough to have developed an actual workflow and there may be an easier way to do it.

As a kind of learning project, I decided to take Imogen Heap's song Hide And Seek  and make a techno remix of it sort of like DJ Tiesto's version. In order to pull this off, the original a capella track has to be chopped up and reassembled to match whatever tempo I've selected.

I've tried three methods, so far:

METHOD ONE

My first attempt, I chopped up a few of the first lines into clips, one clip for each word. I chopped off extra stuff that wasn't necessary and then tried to place each word into the right spot. That worked, pretty much, but was tedious and I'm not making use of the tools Sonar has available.

METHOD TWO

I tried using V-Vocal in Time mode on individual phrases. This worked, but distorted the audio. I think this is because the original track is not just a vocal. It's actually her voice mixed in with a vocoder, I think, so I don't think V-Vocal knows what to do with that.

METHOD THREE