I'm about to build this computer - please double check my list of components

Author
skitch_84
Max Output Level: -81 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 480
2016/04/20 21:42:14 (permalink)

I'm about to build this computer - please double check my list of components

The time has come. I've been wanting to build a custom PC specifically for music production for a long time and I think I'm about ready to pull the trigger. This is my first time building one on my own (I'll have a friend who's done it before help me actually assemble it). I've put together a list of parts using PCPartPicker and I was hoping people more knowledgeable than me could give the list a look over and let me know if anything looks off to you. This computer will be connected to the internet for the sake of updates and iLok stuff, etc., but I will only use it for composing and mixing music in SPlat. I intend to use two monitors and I already have an USB audio interface. I guess my biggest question is whether I need a better graphics card for my purposes. Also, will the 250GB SSD be large enough to host both Sonar and Windows 10? The other two larger SSDs are for sample libraries. The HDD will be for saving my projects and audio. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Here's the link:
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/skitch_84/saved/csyhP6
post edited by skitch_84 - 2016/04/20 22:04:04

Chris Porter
www.cportermusic.com
Listen to my original work on Soundcloud and YouTube
Get my original soundtracks on Bandcamp 
Sonar Platinum "2017.04", Windows 10 64-bit, ASUS Z170-A, i7 6700K (4.0GHz), 32GB DDR4 RAM, 250GB SSD 850 EVO (OS/Sonar/Plugins), 1TB SSD 850 EVO (Sample Libraries), 3TB WD Black HDD (projects/audio), Noctua NH-D14 Cooling Unit, PreSonus AudioBox USB Interface, M-AUDIO Oxygen49

10 Replies Related Threads

Amicus717
    Max Output Level: -79 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 555
    Re: I'm about to build this computer - please double check my list of components 2016/04/20 22:48:33 (permalink)