Importing a Multichannel .Wav File

Author
mrhoades
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 10
2015/07/13 18:50:00 (permalink)

Importing a Multichannel .Wav File

I am a composer of computer generated music and I use Csound, a programming language meant for music composition. One important aspect of my compositions is multi-channel diffusion. Using Csound I generate multi-channel .wav files, which I import into Sonar X2 Producer to edit. I have been doing it for many years and it works great! However, of late I am generating .wav files with more and more channels. As a student at Virginia Tech, I have access to a 144 channel system, for which I am writing algorithms that will create 144 channel .wav files. I can get Sonar X2 to import all 24 channels of a 24 channel wav file but it cannot import a 48 channel .wav file. Using Pro Tools, I can import a 144 channel wav file, however, I prefer to use Sonar, I have been using it since the first audio version (4) came, and so would like to be able to do that in it. Is it possible to expand the number of channels it can import from a wav file? 144 would suit my current needs.

Thanks so much,

Michael Rhoades

23 Replies Related Threads

mudgel
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 12010
    Re: Importing a Multichannel .Wav File 2015/07/15 08:39:02 (permalink)
    Someone more clever than me will have to answer that for you. I wasn't aware such a thing existed and wonder why Sonar in which you can create unlimited tracks, can't import these files.

It sounds like someone like Noël from cakewalk would need to answer your question.

Just as a matter of personal interest, what format do these files take?

Mike V. (MUDGEL)

STUDIO: Win 10 Pro x64, SPlat & CbB x64,
    PC: ASUS Z370-A, INTEL i7 8700k, 32GIG DDR4 2400, OC 4.7Ghz.
    Storage: 7 TB SATA III, 750GiG SSD & Samsung 500 Gig 960 EVO NVMe M.2.
    Monitors: Adam A7X, JBL 10” Sub.
    Audio I/O & DSP Server: DIGIGRID IOS & IOX.