In a nutshell, what's the difference between Z3TA+ 2.1, Dimension Pro and Rapture?

Author
redbarchetta
Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 534
2013/03/18 16:00:01 (permalink)

In a nutshell, what's the difference between Z3TA+ 2.1, Dimension Pro and Rapture?

I don't know anything about synth other than being a listener.  I would imagine that there are some differences between the three, but not knowing anything about synth, I would not know what they are.  Was hoping someone could help me understand what the differences between the three are, and when you might use one synth over another.

Thanks
Rick

Rick - Sofware Engineer by trade, Rock Star God wannabe 
Sonar X3 Producer
Roland Octa-Capture
M-Audio Fast Track Ultra
Boss DR-880
Boss GT100
Line 6 Pod X3
Yamaha HS 50M
Focusrite VRM Box
Audio-Technica ATH M-50
Various guitars and amps

13 Replies Related Threads

mumpcake
    Max Output Level: -59 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1609
    Re:In a nutshell, what's the difference between Z3TA+ 2.1, Dimension Pro and Rapture? 2013/03/18 23:20:34 (permalink)
    Dimension Pro is essentially a sample player with a few synthesis features like envelopes and filters and effects.  You can layer up to 4 elements with it.  The presets include a few synthesizers and pads, as well as a lot of pianos, orchestral, basses, ethnic, and other acoustic instruments.

Z3ta+ is a full featured synthesizer.  It features six oscillators, envelopes, features, effects, mod matrix, etc. Oscillators can modify each other through ring modulation, FM, PM and Sync.  Most people think of it as an EDM synth but you can get some ambient and analog synth patches if you try.

Rapture is somewhere in between.  Like Dimension it is very heavily sample based.  However, its presets are much more synthetic.  Rapture has six elements, each with its own set of envelopes, LFO, step sequencers, and effects.  It's a very versatile synth, but what truly sets it apart are the sequenced sounds you can get.

AT