Helpful ReplyJust need to rant a moment

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
jkoseattle
Max Output Level: -79 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 556
2015/06/27 10:55:39 (permalink)

Just need to rant a moment

This is just a rant to make myself feel better. Maybe you can relate.

I'm a computer professional by day, helping customers at big companies get their data analytics working. On my commute, lunch and breaks I think about whatever song I'm working on for my next album. I'll play the song in my head and concoct exciting improvements to it. "Ooh, if I quote the bridge melody from this other song in the piano in that section, that will seque nicely into the key change..." that kind of thing. It's very satisfying. Then I get home and life happens, and maybe after the dishes and laundry and watering the garden and taking the lawnmower in to get repaired, I'll finally have maybe 45 minutes to work on music stuff. So I sit down in my man cave studio, rub my hands together, and dig in. And lo and behold, the entire time is taken up with figuring out why suddenly the instrument plug-ins aren't working, or why when I try to drag a clip over there the envelope gets screwed up, or why my record latency is suddenly slow, or, this or that or whatever, and hey, this feels exactly like I'm at work still, and BOOM, Sonar crashes, I have to reboot, and that's it for my music for the day. I go to bed and the cycle starts over.

Today is like that. I was going to adjust gain levels on the second section of this song, and decide if that flute figure works or I should cut it, but instead I'm looking at my plug-in manager, running a virus scan, and cracking open the manual for my midi controller. In a few minutes I need to wash the car and then start in on weeding in the yard. And I expect an email from my record label at some point this weekend asking why this album is taking so long.

Sonar Version: Platinum  
Audio Interface: M-Audio Delta