Kontakt? Gigastudio? Malmsjo? What?

Author
samhoff
Max Output Level: -84 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 304
2005/10/12 15:15:22 (permalink)

Kontakt? Gigastudio? Malmsjo? What?

I'm an utter newbie (I apologize in advance; I've seen people get flamed for that!). I've been doing a fair amount of research, but am having a hard time getting an answer to this one question: I want to buy the VGP and the Malmsjo piano from Arti Vista ( http://artvista.net ). I e-mailed the guy who makes it, who has been great, and here's his answer, regarding both the Malmsjo and the VGP:

"The VGP does not need any additional software to be played as it has the playback engine built in. It can be used both as a plug-in together with Cakewalk, and as a stand-alone application. The Malmsjö, on the other hand needs a separate sampling software such as Kontakt, GigaStudio, or EXS24. Kontakt will run as a plug-in (as well as a stand-alone application) to your sequencer so it will be easy to use with Cakewalk. GigaStudio is a stand-alone, but not a plug-in, and I am not sure how you use it with Cakewalk. You probably would have to render the Giga performances to a wav file and open in Cakewalk. EXS24 is a plug-in sampler mostly specific to the Logic audio sequencer. There is also the Halion plug-in sampler, but I do not have a lot of experience of it."

So . . . if I'm understanding correctly, I can run the VGP in Project 5, but in order to play the Malmsjo, I will need to purchase either (1) Kontakt or (2) Gigastudio or (3) EX24. Is that correct? I would e-mail him back but I've actually bothered him quite a bit already. Are these apps pricey?

Thanks in advance for any help. I just don't want to buy something that's going to require even more $$$ to play (I just bought Project 5 and am going to buy VGP, and my wallet is hurting already).

Sam

10 Replies Related Threads

woodamand
    Max Output Level: -77 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 673