Latency, pops, and sync loss

Author
Ryant8806
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 8
2010/07/13 16:13:29 (permalink)

Latency, pops, and sync loss

I am relatively new to Sonar, I had been using Logic Pro for some time. I am running it on a quad core processor with 6 gigs of ram and a 640 gig hd. I run my audio through a presonus firestudio and use the ASIO drivers. First I was getting pops and crackling when I was recording so I adjusted the latency and pretty much got them to go away but I had the latency bar set at the safest possible. I would then get audio that would drift out of sync half way through or sometimes from the start. So I moved the slider to the left, eventually all the way left and I was left with digital sounding vocals, sped up immensely, and crackling horribly. I am not sure if the pc just isnt fast enough. I am running Vista 64 bit and I took all the services off that I didnt need, set it for best performance, and chose minimal visuals(task bar etc.). The computer was disconnected from the internet, antivirus was stopped. Any idea of what is going on? Thanks.

15 Replies Related Threads

CJaysMusic
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 30423
    Re:Latency, pops, and sync loss 2010/07/13 16:29:26 (permalink)
    Your latency setting is too high most likely. you need to find a balance between not getting pops and having low enough latency.
    Does your PC have a TI Firewire chipset in it? You need to have one with a presonus sound card, since the presonus uses a Dice II FW chipset. This may be your problems and this may be causing your pops.

You could also have an IRQ conflict. Here is some info i wrote on that.  http://audio-mastering-mixing.com/FAQ___Q_A.html#36
    Cj

www.audio-mastering-mixing.com - A Professional Worldwide Audio Mixing & Mastering Studio, Providing Online And Attended Sessions. We also do TV commercials, Radio spots & spoken word books
    Audio Blog
    alexoosthoek
    Max Output Level: -23 dBFS