Live recording, mixed and asking for any advice please!

Author
danthevan
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 19
2012/07/05 04:38:35 (permalink)

Live recording, mixed and asking for any advice please!

Hi All, I'm a bit of a novice with sonar, and this is my first mix that i'm reasonably happy with, so wanted to post it on here for any feedback or tips you guys can give me. I originally bought sonar essential about a year ago so I could play my electric drum kit through it with Addictive Drums (midlife crisis and all that!) Every year my local pub have a charity music festival with a few bands playing. This year we managed to get a rather decent digital PA and mobile stage (rather than just playing in the garden) so thought we'd try and record the performances. I didn't use Sonar for the actual recording, but used a Zoom R16, mainly because it was a 'hit record and forget about it' piece of kit, then dragged the wave files into sonar for mixing. Well, this is my attempt at mixing. http://soundcloud.com/dan-roberts-18/moondance Out of all the bands we had playing, this was probably the worst raw wav files I had to work with. The singer insisted on using her own mic, which picked up EVERYTHING on stage except the guitar. Her vocal mic produced better sounds from the dumkit than all the mics around it! Basic mic set up / track set up for this band(8 track) was; Kick drum, Snare, Hats, Drum overhead, Bass through DI, Guitar amp with a mic, same for sax, and vocals. Setup in my 'music shed'; Win7 Ultimate 64bit, 1tb hdd, 8gb ram, sonar producer (just upgraded, this was mixed on studio), Alesis Multimix Usb2 as a soundcard / interface, M audio (something)40 monitors. I've only just got the monitors set up. Wow was that an eye opener! It was like hearing music for the first time ever! Any tips, advice, suggestions welcome!

5 Replies Related Threads

Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398