Loud air hiss and dull repeating popping noise throughout recording

Author
isaiah552
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2008/09/06 10:15:09 (permalink)

Loud air hiss and dull repeating popping noise throughout recording

Let me start by saying, I am no audio expert, and could use all the help I can get with this. I'm using MC 2003and I have this loud air/hiss noise when recording with a mic (I have tried 2 w/ the same results). However, if I plug my acoustic/electric guitar directly up to the pc there is no air/hiss in the dead space on the track but the music ends up sounding "blown out". The main issue though is that I want to be able to record vocals, etc from the mic w/ out a ton of noise in it. Besides the air/ hiss noise, there is also a sort of dot...dot...dot...dot... kind of dull repeating popping all the way through the recording as well. I'm not sure if this is a power issue or what. If so, I would have thought the problem to remain whether I was using the mic or when plugged up directly w/ the instrument. I just want to get a clean recording.

7 Replies Related Threads

57Gregy
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14404
    RE: Loud air hiss and dull repeating popping noise throughout recording 2008/09/06 10:57:49 (permalink)
    The metronome is on by default, and makes a noise, usually a high hat click sound. Set the tempo to the speed you want, and use the metronome to keep in time to the computer. The tempo is important if you plan on using any MIDI in your projects. You can also turn the met off, or set it to play only when recording.
    Tell us about your computer: how fast is it? How much memory does it have? What sound card is installed? What operating system are you using? (MC 2003 isn't made to work with Vista).
    Often, sampling rate disparities can produce unwanted noise, as can other programs running in the backgroud, especially virus scans.