• Software
  • Don't Forget The GUIs in your Post SONAR Determination.
2017/12/10 09:12:36
Frank Harvey
Hi All,
Cards on the table.......... Real Job....I am an Architect ( ie:  The Real Kind ...who design and construct Built Environments).
Quick input here.
As an Architect ( And Music Performer / Amateur Producer) .... I am so very conscious of the importance of Imagery in maintaining Human interest. In a Nutshell.............consider the many hours you must expose yourself visually to  a DAW's  UI .
In your decision to move on from SONAR's  exemplary GUI ............. keep in mind you will be continually staring at this 'NEW' UI for hours and hours, days upon days, months even !!!
Please Don't ignore the importance of the GUI of any Sonar replacement...........that's all I wanted to say. :)
Much luck and best wishes in your Searches  /Evaluations.
Cheers .......Frank in OZ

2017/12/10 09:15:59
Skyline_UK
It's hard to ignore the competitors' GUIs. I've been demoing lots and every one so far has made me go "Ugh...".

2017/12/10 09:43:29
The Maillard Reaction
2017/12/10 10:16:00
marled
I had a look at other DAW's before I jumped fully into the SONAR adventure (before I upgraded from X3 to Platinium). And to me there was none that is so clearly arranged like Sonar. Either things are so small that I nearly can't see them on my laptop screen (I often work on the laptop) or you can just see 2 to 3 tracks at once. That is really no option to me!
Another issue in some other DAWs is that you do not have a good overview of the plugins set to a track.
And what is absolutly a candy for me in Sonar is the export feature. You have a lot of options, especially for simply exporting single tracks. That is missing in many other DAWs where you just can export the whole mix or selected tracks going thru the master, ugh.
All in all I do not think that I would ever find another fitting DAW at all. I just hope that Sonar will run on my PCs for life time (mine).
2017/12/10 10:19:44