2012/01/03 20:43:40
patmc007
Hello, I'm new to virtual synths...still fighting the loss of my Roland D-50.  Anyway, I just downloaded Cakewalk's SFZ+ synth.  I am able to insert it into a MC6 project and successfully get the user interface to pop up.  But that is where my success stops.  I don't see that the SFZ+ has anything to generate a sound, so I'm thinking I'm missing a piece of the puzzle.  Can somebody offer some guidance to help me jump start using this device?

Thanks!
2012/01/03 22:00:51
AT
you have to load in soundfonts.  There are plenty on the web.  load it in and play away.

@
2012/01/03 22:56:55
patmc007
AT, I found a 'valid' soundfont file (SF2 extension).  I see how to load bank files under the VST pulldown, but do not see how to load a soundfont file.  Can I trouble you for one more hint?
2012/01/04 14:11:06
Brando
patmc007

AT, I found a 'valid' soundfont file (SF2 extension).  I see how to load bank files under the VST pulldown, but do not see how to load a soundfont file.  Can I trouble you for one more hint?
You load a soundfont file by clicking in the box to the right of "File>". If you click in that field it should give you the option to browse to the sf2 file you want to load.  Soundfont files can contain multiple programs, so these are selectable from the "Program>" field below.
Here is some introductory information from the cake site - http://www.cakewalk.com/products/SFZ/default.aspx
2012/01/04 16:38:42
patmc007
Brando, thanks for taking the time...it works great.  Even found a sound font that has some of my old favorite Roland D-50 sounds!!
2012/01/06 19:20:43
patmc007