2011/03/01 08:49:26
Dapper
Newbie questions. I can run Dimension Pro as a stand-alone synth, seperate from Sonar X1, so I can play it from my MIDI keyboard. I can't figure out how to do that with Cakewalk Sound Center. Is that possible? If not, how do I set up CSC inside Sonar X1 so that I can play it from my MIDI keyboard? I'm just learning some of this stuff.
2011/03/01 12:27:34
Guitarhacker
I'm not really sure if the Cake VST's operate in stand alone mode. I know the NI stuff does. I would say "no" at this time, but I will try that in a few when I fire up the DAW.
2011/03/01 17:52:23
Kev999
Guitarhacker

I'm not really sure if the Cake VST's operate in stand alone mode.
Dimension Pro, Rapture and Z3ta+ all work as standalones.
2011/03/01 19:56:10
Dapper
Yep, when I upgraded my Dimension LE to Dimension Pro, it added a shortcut to my desktop that'll load and run Dimension by itself, seperate from Sonar. I'm just looking for a way to play the Cakewalk Sound Center sounds with my MIDI keyboard - if not as a stand-alone, then while it's up & running inside Sonar.
2011/03/01 20:35:01
Guitarhacker
DAn... yeah that is totally possible. I run CSC all the time in live mode from inside the DAW platform.

I have never run any synth in standalone mode. I always run them inside my DAW.
2011/03/02 22:41:10
Dapper
I imagine it's easy to do, I just haven't figured it out yet. What's the method?
2011/03/03 01:11:15
Kev999
I don't have Cakewalk Sound Center (nor can I find anything about it on the Cakewalk site), so I don't know whether or not this will work, but I have used the following method to create a Dimension Pro microhost by adapting an existing Rapture microhost.  It turned out to be unnecessary, as I subsequently discovered that there was already an official Dimension Pro microhost available.  Anyway,...

Create a folder somewhere away from any VST plug-ins.
Copy the Rapture.exe file into this folder.
Copy the DimPro.dll file into the same folder.