• SONAR
  • move an entire arrangement in the timeline
2014/11/13 12:50:06
mdages
Hello Sonar folks,

I'm a german composer for film and media and switched my DAW to Sonar X3 a few months ago.
In the past and currently I have the task to move my entire arrangement in the timeline. Mostly because of some changes in the corresponding movie. For some of my clients the final cut isn't really final.

What's the best practice in Sonar to move a range of an entire arrangment with all tracks, clips and tempo maps to another mark on the timeline? Would be nice if there is a one step solution.

regards
Markus

2014/11/13 12:58:02
John
Be sure the snap to grid is off. Select all and drag it while holding shift where you want it.
2014/11/13 12:59:32
Beagle
you can also insert measures. 

select ALL tracks with CTRL-A
Project > Insert Time/Measures

http://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=SONAR%20X2&language=4&help=Dialogs2.015.html
2014/11/13 13:06:25
Kalle Rantaaho
John
Be sure the snap to grid is off. Select all and drag it where you want it.

As there's been lots of threads about this sort of topics, I'd like to get a confirmation: In the present version, does that action move everything? Envelopes, tempo maps/changes - everything. Splitting them at the correct spot etc.?
I've lost count of the details of which method can not move/copy what when :o)
2014/11/13 13:21:16
Kalle Rantaaho
Does "select>all" nowadays really split and move everything? Tempo maps/changes, envelopes - everything.
IIRC, this wasn't the case not so long time ago.
2014/11/13 13:22:42
mdages
@John Thanks, but this was the first I tried. But this don't work. Maybe because of bugs, but always some clips will stay on their old position. Another problem is, that this don't move the tempo map and markers.

@Beagle Thank you too. This seems to work with some rearranging of the movie clip after that.