2017/03/30 15:44:05
davdud101
Working on an entirely new build for my studio.... this is my first time, but I'm speaking with experienced folk to get tips on what equipment and stuff is the best, as well as for gaining information so that I can do a bit more myself next time.

But here's the question: What you guys typically back up when backing up your project files? Do you just do EVERYTHING at once? Or do you have some way to compress your entire projects folder, or perhaps only take project files for unfinished songs and everything else is exported audio files?

I want to see how you guys do it - so that I don't screw up!
2017/03/30 17:44:07
Slugbaby
I save all my projects in 'Per Project Folders', and then just back everything up every couple of weeks to an external drive that is normally not connected to my DAW.  With drives being so cheap, I don't bother compressing - more work than it's worth.
I don't worry about settings, applications, or samples.  Those can be downloaded again from the vendors if the PC dies.

And when I finish a project (aka album that gets released for sale, or anything else that valuable), i'll take the mastered WAVs, put them in a USB key, and leave it in my safe deposit box (that holds all the important stuff in case my apartment burns down).
2017/03/30 20:49:45
bapu
Matt said it best.

Backup what you can't recover form your vendors.

Compression of backed up files would only be of value if you were backing up to the cloud (and/or you pay for data bandwidth usage from you ISP). If you are backing up locally (to an external drive) chances are you are going to be backing up less than a TB and a TB external drive is dirt cheap these days.

Don't forget to take a C: drive image at least once a month and back that up to the external drive as well.
2017/03/31 01:00:56
BobF