2016/06/14 23:01:21
jackroller
I just upgraded to Rapture Pro and I'm getting pretty bad audio pops and crackling with some of the more complex sounds.  I have MMCSS enabled in Sonar, and my CPU isn't even close to spiking.  I also tried changing the 32-bit to 16-bit switch on the element pages, but that doesn't seem to make much of a difference. Is there a low quality mode like in Z3ta+2?

Increasing the audio buffer size to a ridiculously high level (from 64 to 192!!) seems to fix the problem, but I don't understand how that's going to work if I have a project where I'm using Rapture Pro and recording audio without causing latency issues.  

Is there a common way of dealing with this sort of thing that I'm not experienced with?  I'm guessing the answer is going to be to turn up the buffer, freeze the track, and then turn the buffer back down when recording - but that doesn't seem quite right.

Sorry if this is more of a Sonar question than a Rapture Pro question.
2016/06/15 03:45:16
promidi
What sample rate are you projects set to.  Are you using the latest drivers for your MOTU 896mk3 (Which is v4.0.6.6814 for audio and v4.0.5.7483 for the MIDI)
2016/06/15 09:48:44
jackroller
Sample rate is set to 44.1kHz.  (24-bit, with x64 double precision active)  I just downloaded and reinstalled the latest drivers for my 896mk3 and I'm still getting crazy pops and cracks - though it's mostly with Atmospheric sounds.

If anyone from CW is reading this:  To say this is a dealbreaker would be an understatement.  I have no problems running much more complex synths with extreme unison settings (Serum anyone?). So far I'm very disappointed with RPro, even if it was only $40 to upgrade.
2016/06/15 12:52:58
jackroller