• Hardware
  • Upgrade interface opinions requested
2018/11/08 16:30:28
Mannynyagain
Hi,

I’ve been recording at home for about 15 years now. I don’t do a lot of recording, only when I write a new song and that’s once or twice a year. I know the quality of my recordings do not come close to most of what I hear in the songs forum. I chalk that up to my lack of skill, inexperience, some degree of laziness and basic poor judgement.

Okay - with my mea culpas out of the way, I was wondering if the actual sounds I’m getting on vocals, guitars and bass could be improved by upgrading my interface. Currently I have a audiophile 2694 PCI card and a little Mackie vkz3 mixer. The vocal mic is an akg C3000. The 2694 is about 13 years old and the Mackie just a few years old.

Would there be any appreciable difference if I switch to one of the new usb interfaces with for example Presonus or Mackie Onyx ?

I realize is a very subjective issue but technology has changed and maybe for a small investment some of my tracks (vocals especially) might sound a bit more professional.

Any insight would be appreciated. I know “learn to use what you have” is an absolutely valid response - I tell myself that all the time. In fact I’ll be the first to say it - “hey Manny, learn to use what you have”.
2018/11/08 20:16:48
batsbrew
hey manny,
do a search,
there are so many threads about this kind of thing,
it's hard to reiterate the same info over and over and over....
that said,
i used to have the maudio 2496 card, went to a maudio audiophile 192 card,
and after that, bought a RME Babyface Pro.

that's my very strong suggestion.
2018/11/08 20:42:38
Mannynyagain
Understand what you’re saying. Btw, your tracks sound amazing.
2018/11/08 21:05:56
Leadfoot
I used an M-Audio Delta 1010 rackmount for about 12 years. A couple years ago I bought an Audient iD22. They clarity and body of my tracks improved very noticeably. I'm so glad I made the change.
2018/11/09 01:54:41
stratman70