2016/03/17 12:46:32
steveandrews@embarqmail.com
I have been using Cakewalk for many years. I originally purchased it because it ran on Windows. At the time most studio software ran on Apple products and were ridiculously expensive. Now Microsoft is moving away from operating system ownership and will even eventually extort yearly usage fees for the privilege of using their software. They have also built in spy ware and taken away the control of upgrades from the hardware owners. Privacy issues aside these practices consume system resources and can introduce unwanted behaviors. Have you considered writing a version that runs on Linux?
2016/03/17 13:34:13
bapu
Oh not this AGAIN!!!!
2016/03/17 14:05:18
stevec
bapu
Oh not this AGAIN!!!!

You would prefer a Mac thread, sí?

PS... SONAR on Linux?  Less likely than SONAR on Mac IMHO. 
2016/03/17 14:18:58
gswitz
Ubuntustudio.org
2016/03/17 16:32:42
John T
I reckon it's very unlikely that MS will start charging a yearly fee for Windows. That would leave them in the fairly impossible position of having the only mass market operating system that wasn't free.
2016/03/18 05:53:06
azslow3
John T
I reckon it's very unlikely that MS will start charging a yearly fee for Windows. That would leave them in the fairly impossible position of having the only mass market operating system that wasn't free.

They have announced that some time ago, so that probably will come.

As OP has correctly mentioned, they are already bound Windows to the hardware. So as a normal user you can not upgrade your PC without sending (ridiculous!) money to MS. I think "subscription" model will be accepted by most users, you can upgrade PC again, probably "home" package (several home computers) will have special price. They have big experience with Office 365, they know what they are doing.