2016/04/29 15:55:10
batsbrew
i had my current daw pc put together by a custom builder here in town, back in '08....

called him to tell him i wanted to upgrade my pc guts,
but he's gone...

looked around for someone else to do the build.....
several folk have told me to just do it myself.

i've never built a pc before.
i've installed sound cards before, and changed out drives, but that's it.

so, i need a bit of guidance...

pieces parts, yes, i can buy those on line, that's not the problem, knowing what i have...
and what i can easily change out for upgrade...and understanding compatability between what i want to keep and what i need to update......is my problem.

if any of you guru's have time to look at my current build, 
and tell me what you think is still compatible..
and what would easily retrofit, and what i would have to 'forget about', i'd appreciate it!

Current config:
  • Antec Solo Black/Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
  • LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model
  • Intel BOXDP35DPM LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • ASUS EN8400GS SILENT/HTP/256M GeForce 8400 GS 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
  • Thermaltake TR2 RX W0134RU 550W ATX12V Ver2.2 SLI Ready Modular Passive PFC PFC Power Supply
  • Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8400
  • CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400
  • (2) Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3400620AS 400GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drives
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP3 English
  • Maudio Audiophile 192 card
  • MultiCard reader
  • USB 2.0 connections (2 up front, 4 in back)

i'd like to keep the Maudio card, but i'll be moving to a USB-based interface soon after the pc upgrade.
the power supply is fine, the drives are fine, the case is fine, the graphics card is fine, the cd burner is fine..

so, i'm mostly looking to update: