2018/01/18 16:35:32
pwalpwal
has anyone been trying out the beta? the upgrade offer is about to expire and i'm really not sure if i'm going to or not...
i understand that max is now integrated(?) and i know there's no vst3 support(?) but what else is new compared to v9? is there a comparison chart somewhere?
thanks for any tips!
2018/01/18 17:02:08
pwalpwal
no personal anecdotes to share? what's the best new thing?
2018/01/18 17:44:39
CakeAlexSHere
Not really I'm not an Ableton expert by a long way.. sorry.
2018/01/19 00:47:04
kitekrazy1
I just can't get past my dislike for the $200+ upgrade price for use Suite users. Cubase crossgrade was less.  Samplitude license and Reason 10 upgrade is less. I'll be sitting on 9 Suite for some time unless I  get a good deal from a vendor.  FL Studio 20 will be out soon and that wont cost me a thing.
 As for Max4Live the only value in that is getting devices made for it.  Most likely you wouldn't spend your time learning to create with it.
  That would be my most expensive DAW upgrade ever unless I upgraded to Cubase without a discount.
2018/01/19 14:02:31
Michael A.D.
I agree with kitekrazy... I am not going to spend $200 to upgrade my Suite 9...  that's way overpriced.

I rarely touch Live anymore since I discovered Reaper (which BTW has a great $29 add-on that emulates much of Live's session view).

And considering that there really doesn't seem to be much of anything new in Live 10... who cares if Max4Live is built-in?   That's not worth $200.

So I think I will wait till Live 11 hits and see if that has anything of interest.

2018/01/19 14:51:40
CakeAlexSHere
Luckily my Focusrite interface came with a stripped down version that I could update for reasonable value. Ableton do free feature updates over the version lifecycle don't they? If so what were version 9's like?
2018/01/19 17:20:17
pwalpwal