MC 5 Beginner Needs Help...

Author
Mello
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 7
2010/07/02 03:26:03 (permalink)

MC 5 Beginner Needs Help...

I'm new at this MIDI game (using MC 5) and need some help.

Here's the set-up:
I'm using a cheap Casio CKT-611 keyboard as a controller through a M-Audio Fast Track Pro interface to the USB port on a Compaq laptop - 2.16 GHz processor, 2MB RAM, factory sound card.

For the first track I used the Cello Section from the Section Strings in the sound center.  For the second track I used the bass section from the Section Strings.... everything is fine.  However, when I try to put down a third track - well, that's when I start to have problems.  Arbitrarily, the sounds from tracks 1 & 2 seem to "meld" together and the notes sustain themselves.  After a few bars things return to normal then start up again even if I use MIDI from the keyboard or TTS for the third track.

I've set the latency to just above distortion level on both the interface and MC 5.  When I start the third track my CPU runs at 25-30%.

What am I doing wrong?  Do I need a faster CPU, more RAM? (Silly question...who doesn't need bigger, better, faster.)

24 Replies Related Threads

Kalle Rantaaho
    Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7005
    Re:MC 5 Beginner Needs Help... 2010/07/02 08:15:39 (permalink)
    Welcome to the forum!

I'm not sure if this solves your problem, but you should do this anyway:
    Your Fast Track Pro should be the only soundcard you use. Disable the integrated chip and use ASIO drivers.

SONAR PE 8.5.3, Asus P5B, 2,4 Ghz Dual Core, 4 Gb RAM, GF 7300, EMU 1820, Bluetube Pre  -  Kontakt4, Ozone, Addictive Drums, PSP Mixpack2, Melda Creative Pack, Melodyne Plugin etc.
    The benefit of being a middle aged amateur is the low number of years of frustration ahead of you.
    Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re:MC 5 Beginner Needs Help... 2010/07/02 08:37:34 (permalink)