MIDI Sound Qualty

Author
G_BENNETT
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2005/06/14 09:27:57 (permalink)

MIDI Sound Qualty

Hi all.
I'm a somewhat new User of CWHS and record mostly audio. I've recently ventured into the drum beat 'painting' area of the product, and have laid down a few tracks using the EDIROL DXi that comes with the product. Pretty straight forward & easy to use.

My question is this. On playback, the MIDI drum reproduction is... well...it seems pretty crappy. I'm new to this and dont have a point of reference, so maybe this is as good as it gets. Can anyone comment? I've fooled around with the various stock setting (using the Room 1 Reverb over the Hall certainly makes the sounds a little more acceptable, but...). I can only describe the sound as 'fake'.

I also considered it might even be something to do with the system I'm running (but I assumed the sound card shouldnt have a significant impact). My headphones are pretty decent quality Sonys, which I run from the Edirol UA-20 ADC I use for my audio inputs. My system specs are below.

Everything seems to work as described, it just falls short of what I expected. I feel I can get better individual beat representation recording audio right off my drum kit. I'm sure I must be overlooking something. I've seen other MIDI products like BFD which demo on their site with what sounds like more realistic sound reproduction, but I'd rather not make the investment if the real reason is hardware related.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

GB

*** Specs ***

IBM T41 Laptop
1 Gig Memory
120 Gig Disk
Edirol UA-20 ADC (USB)
Shure SM58 Mic
Drums
Guitars
Keyboards
Digitech RP300A Effects Pedals

5 Replies Related Threads

boten
    Max Output Level: -31.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4353
    RE: MIDI Sound Qualty 2005/06/14 10:59:51 (permalink)