Helpful ReplyMaking MIDI Drums Sound "Real?"

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
Blades
Max Output Level: -43 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3246
Re: Making MIDI Drums Sound "Real?" 2018/12/08 01:07:03 (permalink)
I will Start by saying I am a drummer but have been playing edrums for a LONG time.... Like since before they were any good, like back to Simmons drums that are made out of plywood with some rubber liquid nailed on them with a really crap sounding chip full of awful pseudo drum sounds.

One thing I didn't see suggested: have a friend (or forum member) help you out.

The great thing with edrums is that they record really well and believable midi.

There are some decent collaboration sites out there. There are some free and not free options out there, so sometimes it doesn't always mean hiring a drummer.

I Play a vdrums kit connected to a Pearl Mimic Pro module and it sounds amazing... Basically like a vst. I record out to mutilpe tracks and mix as audio. In the end, it basically sounds like a great drum recording because it uses really good samples with regular drumming. I could never even come close with acoustic drums.

So... Anyone looking for some drum tracks, if it's a project I am interested in, I might just make some tracks. I struggle to make full tracks as often as I would like. Pm me if you Want to discuss.

Blades
www.blades.technology  - Technology Info and Tutorials for Music and Web
Kamikaze
Max Output Level: -45 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3013
Re: Making MIDI Drums Sound "Real?" 2018/12/08 02:04:32 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby Steev 2018/12/08 12:18:49
ChazEd
You can use AD2 to humanize your drums.

You can import your drum midi files into AD2, transform them, and bring them back to your DAW.

It's pretty easy:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jg0NklSRlWY

Hope this helps

It's even easier than that.