Mastering Questions (Digital Audio is like Magic, Right?)

Author
Guitar Slim
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 82
2014/07/06 18:30:59 (permalink)

Mastering Questions (Digital Audio is like Magic, Right?)

A friend has asked me try and "fix" some audio tracks for a talk show she is producing for internet distribution.  I am a musician and composer who knows a little about mixing music, less about post-production sound, and virtually nothing about mastering.  I'm hoping some of you experts out there can give me some advice.

I have three DAWs I can choose from -  Sonar, Logic and Pro Tools.  My mixing tools/plug-ins/effects include the standard stuff included with these DAWs:  EQ, compression, multi-band compression, limiting, etc.

I've warned the producer that this is a "garbage-in/garbage-out" situation, the original audio was poorly recorded and has a lot of problems.

First, there are several places where the close mics cut out, leaving only the camera mics.  The audio from camera mics is clearly more muffled and has a lot more room reverb.  I've been asked to "fix this and make it all sound homogeneous" (!)  This seems to me like a mastering issue, and not something that can be fixed with my basic mixing tools above -- if it can be fixed at all.  Is there anything I can try using those basic tools?  Are there any mastering tools out there that a noob might be able to use to address this problem? 

Another issue is the hiss on most of the tracks.  I suspect this comes from a noisy mic preamp turned up too high.  The hiss is too broad-spectrum to treat with a notch filter.  I tried using a lowpass filter and I found that a cutoff point around 3.5k eliminates a good bit of the hiss without degrading the quality of the dialog too much.  Is there another approach that might be better?