Matching measure numbers to a conductor score

Author
synthbruce
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 8
2018/04/17 00:47:34 (permalink)

Matching measure numbers to a conductor score

Newbie here.  I am playing a musical show score by myself on piano, so I am recording one piano part so that I can play along with it for the Overture and entr'actes to fatten them up.   The score has various measures that repeat and the measure numbers are something like 1A 2A 3A, 1B 2B 3B, 1C 2C 3C.  I want to keep the measure numbers in my project in sync with the measure numbers in the score.  

Is there a way to edit the measure numbers so that after a repeat like this, I can set the measure number to a particular value to match the score?

I'm betting there are several easy ways to do this, but the help files don't give me anything--probably because I am not using the correct search terms.  I'd appreciate any suggestions or a point to some documentation that could help me out.

Thanks,

Bruce

5 Replies Related Threads

wst3
    Max Output Level: -55.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1979
    Re: Matching measure numbers to a conductor score 2018/04/17 00:59:20 (permalink)
    You are in for a real challenge!

Sonar, and every modern DAW that I've used, is somewhat married to the concept of linear, as in tape, as in there are seldom any mechanisms to do repeats and the like.

To be fair, it wasn't that long ago that doing this in a notation package was pretty grueling. That  part has gotten much better.

I've attempted similar projects, and the best bet for me was to simply record the entire piece, which of course meant that I could not really vamp. Which is why I don't do this anymore<G>!

MTI and a couple other outfits have software specifically designed to this application. I don't know why, but they have not yet made it available to the public as a tool, although it is very cool, and you get the software as part of the accompaniment packages they license.