Midi Connections 2

Author
Dariusx
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2007/01/16 23:06:53 (permalink)

Midi Connections 2

I am just getting started in the world of MIDI. While I have read about it and have a basic knowledge of it when putting theory into practice I do not get the results I want,

I have a Yamaha ypt 400 keyboard. I t is MIDI capable however it only has a USB output. I have read about the five pin MIDI in/out so I don't know if this is good or not. I had read about controllers and sequencers, but I don't know if I need them or not.I am using Sonar 6 cakewalk trial software to evaluate if I want to purchase this or not.

When I uploaded a song that I had recorded on the keyboard I have encountered a huge problem. When I play it back either through the PC or keyboard the instruments heard are not the ones I recorded. For instance if I had a horn part, I now hear a piano when I play it on the PC. It sounds okay as it is recording however.

When I play back through the keyboard (via the PC) I will hear whatever was the last instrument setting I played manually for instance if it was a piano I will hear that and not horns.

I have an old PC and my sound card does not have a specific MIDI input. There is only a line in. I do plan to get a new one soon but in the meanwhile I need to know if there is anything I am doing wrong?

Pent 3 (500 MHZ)
384 Ram
Windows XP Home Edition (Serevice pack 2)
Creative Sound Blaster Card

Thanks In Advance
Dre

1 Reply Related Threads

b rock
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 8717
    RE: Midi Connections 2 2007/01/17 10:57:02 (permalink)
    Dre, this is a huge subject with a lot of potential for confusion along the way. MIDI is just a way of moving numbers. The sounds themselves don't necessarily come with it. There are some differences, but you can move these numbers over a standard MIDI cable or USB. MIDI is very versatile, so you have to tell it what you want it to do.