Mini ITX build. Can it be done adequately?

Author
FlySig
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 142
2011/04/26 14:01:53 (permalink)

Mini ITX build. Can it be done adequately?

The old laptop is about to die, and it wasn't really powerful enough anyhow.  I'm running Guitar Tracks, and may upgrade to a Sonar product.  Mostly fairly simple projects, something like 20 tracks max, usually around 8 or 10 tracks.  Usually a fair number of VST plugins, and that is what kills the laptop.

It looks like an i3 processor based system would meet the need.  The idea of something small on the desk rather than large on the floor appeals to me.

Budget is pretty tight, ergo no new laptop.

Being quiet is really important because the computer is in the (home) studio.  Can a reasonable mini ITX system be quiet enough?  This is my first build, and though I used to be very computer savvy (programming professionally 20 yrs ago), I'm spoiled by using Mac for normal family stuff now.

Any advice on going this route, or should I resign myself to a mid tower?

Checkout my songs at http://www.soundclick.com/zozobra

5 Replies Related Threads

Jim Roseberry
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 9871
    Re:Mini ITX build. Can it be done adequately? 2011/04/26 18:49:46 (permalink)
    Any advice on going this route, or should I resign myself to a mid tower?

You can certainly build a mini-ITX based system that'll work well.
    Motherboard choice (due to limited options) is critical... as is the case and PS (due to space and thermal concerns).
    A mini-ITX build isn't as easy as a typical tower... as tolerances can be *tight*.
    You may even need to modify the case a bit to get things to fit.  
    BTW, I wouldn't try to run the machine off the stock 100w PS that comes with many of the ITX cases.

Best Regards,

Jim Roseberry
    jim@studiocat.com
    www.studiocat.com
    Kev999
    Max Output Level: -36 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3922