Mixing workflow question, whats a parallel channel

Author
Berserkyd
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 9
2017/08/31 02:50:03 (permalink)

Mixing workflow question, whats a parallel channel

Hey guys, I'm a total beginner here, I use Sonar Platinum, I just want to ask if you guys have any tips for having the best setup for an heavy metal mixe. Well so far I made 3 Bus on my mixe, 1 for all the guitars, 1 for the bass, 1 for the drums track. Those Bus are link to another instrument Bus, and this Bus is link to the master Bus. And since I got no vocal yet, i'll probably create another Bus link to the master directly if I got some someday.  Is that a good start ?

And whats parallel channel ? How do I to use it ?  I saw some people like to make a guitar room channel for the guitar, and some other room channel for other instrument, is that what you call parallel. Well I really dont know whats the utility and what to do with this channel, is it to put some reverb on your guitar without affecting anything else. Well if its usefull how to I link a room channel to my guitar track, I'm really not use to the SONAR tool.  It seem like a very important part of mixing. 

Thanks !

post edited by Berserkyd - 2017/08/31 03:26:25

4 Replies Related Threads

Boydie
    Max Output Level: -83 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 370
    Re: Mixing workflow question, whats a parallel channel 2017/08/31 07:29:16 (permalink)
    I think you are mixing (excuse the pun) 2 concepts, which share a similar setup but are referred to as different things:

EFFECTS SEND
    If you want to add the same effect with the same setting (e.g. the same reverb applied to all guitars to give the impression they were all recorded in the same room) you would add a new BUS and put your required fx in the fx bin with the desired settings - e.g. if you wanted a "guitar room" reverb then you could set up a room type reverb