Muffled Mumbled Mess

Author
EasTexGuy
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 160
2010/08/26 11:06:51 (permalink)

Muffled Mumbled Mess

I have a problem. Here's the short of the long of it. The wife sings contemporary christian/gospel (point of grace, amy grant, casting crowns type etc) she uses the performance tracks purchased in any music store, etc. friends, family, folks at church ask if she has these tunes on a cd or something. So... I open a new project (btw this is my first attempt at creating a listenable tune in SHS7XL) import the track from cd @ 24bit. No effects added. She sings the song. I add eq, comp verb etc to the vox, bed the vocal nicely and it matches up real well... export the mix to a wav file @ 32bit. Open a mastering project, and import the wav audio file. I'm just using the Sonitus Suite multiband, comp, and boost11 on it. ( I got it, mastering tools work better... just ain't got'em ) Through the monitors I get a beautiful sound with good lows & highs and strong vocal. It sounds great to me. THEN...

I export to wav @ 16 and play it back on my fairly nice computer sound system. @@ I swear to you I haven't changed the sound of anything up to this point. The whole (mastered) wav mix just sounds muffled and not crisp at all. I mean, I'm no engineer, but my ears are as good as any. I can't make the wife sound like Amy Grant but I don't want people thinking I bound and gagged her while she sang either. The music should sound like it was inspired by God, not Lucifer... atm I feel the heat on my rear end! @_@