Multiple Boot Computer

Author
marcos69
Max Output Level: -26 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4950
2007/03/28 10:58:03 (permalink)

Multiple Boot Computer

Sorry if this is the wrong forum for this, it is slightly off topic.

How do you make this work:

I have an existing harddrive with win2000. I setup a new harddrive with winXP.

I'd like to boot off of each harddrive. I was told that XP has a boot manager that would give me a menu choice of which harddrive I wanted to boot from at boot time, but I don't find any indication of that so far.

I'm brand new to XP so don't really know my way around in it. It is an upgrade version if that makes a difference.

Thanks

Mark Wessels

At CD Baby

At Soundclick

6 Replies Related Threads

wogg
    Max Output Level: -57 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1819
    RE: Multiple Boot Computer 2007/03/28 11:19:24 (permalink)

The boot loader chioce menu is installed at the time of XP setup. In order for it to do this, it needs to see the Win2000 installation as you install. If you removed the Win200 drive prior to installing XP, it wouldn't have seen the OS and wouldn't have automatically installed the boot loader choices.

You can manually add OS choices to boot.ini through the system properties.
    right click my computer and hit properties
    Advanced tab
    Startup and Recovery settings button

The OS lines look like this:
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

You'd have to know which disk and partition numbers to assign. The text between the quotes is what will be displayed as the choice.

There are also utilities from the recovery console that will create the boot.ini file for you. The recovery console can be accessed by booting the XP disk. Using the command "help" gives you a list of commands, any of which can be run with a /? switch to see how to use them.