NEEDING HELP!

Author
tye.dye.gye
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 7
2008/11/22 10:02:01 (permalink)

NEEDING HELP!

First off, I am uncertain where this NEEDS to be posted. If I am wrong, please let me know and I will repost correctly. I am just getting started in dealing with Virtual Synths. I currently am using Sonar 7 and recently purchased the "CAKEWALK SYNTHESIZERS" book. Unfortunately, I am still struggling with the exact same problem. I want a simple cookbook approach to setting up a V-Synth in Sonar to get sound. When I follow the help, the book, the manual, whatever, I get nothing. Why is this so hard? Please, someone, help! - Tye.dye.gye

16 Replies Related Threads

torhan
    Max Output Level: -32.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4271
    RE: NEEDING HELP! 2008/11/22 17:29:29 (permalink)
    Insert > Soft Synth

This will (at the least) give you 2 tracks. 1 for midi (which controls the soft synth), and 1 audio track (the synth's audio output).

Are you getting that far?

Sonar Platinum
    Premier Tracks
    ASCAP
    kwgm
    Max Output Level: -52.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2271
    RE: NEEDING HELP! 2008/11/22 18:07:21 (permalink)
    There's a tutorial on this also -- Tutorial 8. I would think this is very "cookbook".

Did you work through it?

--kwgm
    tye.dye.gye
    RE: NEEDING HELP! 2008/11/23 02:22:36 (permalink)
    Thank you Torhan & Kwgm for your replies. In answer to your questions, YES to both of you. I have worked through Tutorial8.cwp as well as just simply inserting a soft synth. I still get no sound. I am using a laptop computer. It has no sound synthesis on its own. Am I wrong is assuming that a Soft Synth should give me that sound synthesis ability? I assume (dangerous word I know) that I should at the very least get something out. This is enough to drive me to give up music production entirely! - DL
    techead
    Max Output Level: -31.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4353
    RE: NEEDING HELP! 2008/11/24 18:44:04 (permalink)