Need advice on XLR "outs" from crossover hardware to monitors please.

Author
Billy86
Max Output Level: -83 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 362
2018/08/02 19:40:01 (permalink)

Need advice on XLR "outs" from crossover hardware to monitors please.

I'm adding a Behringer CX 2310 crossover to my signal flow so I can add up a powered sub to my set-up. (Yes, the sub has a crossover in it, but it only has unbalanced connections and created the hum you might expect from unbalanced connections. Long story short, I can't use the crossover in the sub, so I'm using an external hardware one to handle that duty.)

MY QUESTION: I need XLR cables (L/R) to come out of the crossover and into a pair of Rokit 6 powered monitors. I have a couple of extra mic cables that seem to fit the bill as far as connectors (XLR male to XLR female). Can I use those for signal coming from the crossover unit to the monitors, or is there some kind of mismatch impedance or something... or whatever. I'm no electrical engineer.

Would like to not have to buy more cables if I can use some I have. Thanks for any advice!

Windows 10 x64 on a Dell/Intel i5, 500 Gig SSD, 32 gig RAM, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Sonar Professional, Melodyne 4 Assistant, Kurzweil SP-76 stage piano, Baldwin RP 100 digital upright, Novation Impulse 25, Breedlove Pursuit Concert Acous/Elec, Fender American Standard Tele, Fender G-DEC 30 modeling amp, Sigma DM-5 Acoustic, Ovation MCS148 Celebrity Acous/Elec. Mandolin, Roland V-Drums TD-11KV, AKG P220, Yamaha MG82CX mixer, KRK Rokit 6 Powered Monitors, PreSonus FaderPort

4 Replies Related Threads

GaryMedia
    Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 217
    Re: Need advice on XLR "outs" from crossover hardware to monitors please. 2018/08/02 22:05:25 (permalink)
    Here's a link to the best article that addresses your connection issue:
    [http://www.rane.com/note110.html ]